Digital Archive


Contact us


Finding your way around this site

Ewyas Lacy was the name given by the Norman conquerors to an area of the Welsh border country which today comprises the Herefordshire parishes of Craswall, Cusop, Llancillo, Llanveynoe, Longtown [with Clodock], Michaelchurch Escley, Newton, Rowlestone, St Margarets, and Walterstone. This link gives more information and a map of the area.
For specific queries, our search engine accesses over 4,000 items spanning more than two millennia. For general browsing, material is shown as Records or Research, or as images in the Digital Archive. Please respect our conditions of use .
Welcome to our website which is dedicated to the history of this South-West corner of Herefordshire. The site has been put together and is maintained by a group of local historians who are enthusiastic about their heritage and its preservation. It contains historical records of the people and places in the ten modern parishes which together formed the ancient lands of Ewyas Lacy.  



Top - Back

Ref: rs_home