About Ewyas Lacy


About Ewyas Lacy


Ewyas Lacy was the name given by the Norman conquerors to an area of Welsh land anciently known as Ewyas or Ewias, which was claimed by the de Lacy family as overlords. Flanked by the Black Mountains, Ewyas Lacy was frontier country in the Marches of Wales until brought into England and the county of Herefordshire in the 16th century, when some ten parishes were designated the Hundred of Ewyas Lacy.

The primary focus of this website is the history of the people and places in the ten modern-day parishes which together formed the ancient lands and subsequently the Hundred of Ewyas Lacy, namely Craswall, Cusop, Llancillo, Llanveynoe, Longtown [with Clodock], Michaelchurch Escley, Newton, Rowlestone, St Margarets, and Walterstone. The history of Ewyas Lacy is, however, intertwined with that of neighbouring areas ruled by the Marcher Lords such as the Golden Valley, the Vale of Ewyas and the Black Mountains, and so records relating to them are also included where appropriate.

The hand-drawn map below shows the location of Ewyas Lacy within the County of Herefordshire, and the location of the individual modern parishes within Ewyas Lacy.

Further detailed information on the origins and development of the area is available in the article “A brief history of Ewyas Lacy”.


Map courtesy of Geoff Gwatkin

Top - Back

Ref: rs_home_sub1