Held at:

Brothers Collection




Guest contribution


Reverend CT Brothers - Service as Chaplain to the Dore Union Workhouse

Place name:

Golden Valley




In addition to his duties as Rector of Bacton, Reverend CT Brothers served as Chaplain to the Dore Union workhouse. The workhouse officials in 1909 are listed below for illustration:

Dore Poor Law Union and Workhouse

Erected in the Parish of Abbey Dore in 1839 by the architect John Plowman, who was also the architect for Hereford Union Workhouse.

The Union comprised the parishes of Abbey Dore, Bacton, Craswall, Dulas, Ewyas Harold, Kenderchurch, Kentchurch, Kilpeck, Kingstone, Llancillo, Llanveynoe, Longtown, Madley, Michaelchurch Escley, Newton, Orcop, Peterchurch, Rowlstone, St Devereux, St Margaret's, Thruxton, Treville, Turnastone, Tyberton, Vowchurch, Walterstone and Wormbridge.

The Board of Guardians met alternate Mondays at the Workhouse for their meetings. The Workhouse was a building of stone capable of holding 110 inmates.


Union Officers 1909

Chairman to the Board of Guardians

C. B. Lee Warner

Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee

Richard Moore

Workhouse Chaplain

Rev. Charles Thomas Brothers, Rector of Bacton

Workhouse Master

Charles W. Wall

Workhouse Matron

Mrs M. Wall

Medical Officer

Lesley Lachlan Thain

Superintendent Registrar

Stephen A. Herbert



Data concerning the history and officers of the Dore Poor Law Union is transcribed from a document in the Brothers Collection; it is not known who compiled the original research.

Top - Back

Ref: rs_gdv_0130