Held at:

Herefordshire Record Office




Digital Images


Cusop School Minute Book, 1903

Place name:





The School Board met monthly on the morning of the second Monday of the month from January to April at the Clerk’s Office, Bank Chambers, Hay on Wye.


Board Members

Mr J Linacre, Mr C J Lilwall, Mr W H Larkin, Mr F Browning, Rev D C Moore

Teacher, Mr T J White (salary £85 p.a.)
School Attendance Officer, Mr C James (salary £5 p.a.)
Clerk, C Griffiths.


Mrs Williams, Rose Cottage, Cleaner at £5 p.a. Duties, to light fire as required, to clean the school daily and washout once a week.


The Education Act of 1903 abolished School Boards. Schools came under the management of a local group of School Managers who were responsible to the Local Education Authority of the County Council.

Wednesday 29th April , First meeting of the ‘New Managers’. Board’. Managers meet monthly.


Chairman Rev D C Moore, Mr W H Larkin, Mr F Browning, Mr C J Lilwall

School Attendance Officer, Mr C James, retires in September..

September. Resolved the teachers salaries for the purposes of the agreement be considered as £75 for Mr White and £20 for Mrs White.


For following year click here
For previous year click here
Click here for Cusop School Minute Book from 1901 to 1911

Top - Back

Ref: gc_cus_3013